Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Our Governors


School Governors

School Governors are drawn from all walks of life and as you will see in this section of the website there are various types of Governors. The first question to ask yourself is, “Are you interested in the education, welfare and opportunities provided for children and young people?”

If the answer to this first question is “Yes”, then have you got enthusiasm and time to spare?  If so, you could consider volunteering as a School Governor.

  • Governors give their service voluntarily and no formal qualifications are necessary although there are eligibility criteria.
  • Governors are ordinary people, aged over 18, with a special commitment to the education and well-being of children.
  • Term of office is normally four years.

There are typically four types of Governors:

  • Staff 
  • Parent
  • Community
  • Local Authority

Staff Governors

Staff Governors would normally fall into two categories, firstly Teaching Staff, and secondly Support Staff.  Staff Governors are elected by teaching and support staff who are paid to work at the School.  This category will also include a reserved place for the Headteacher.

Parent Governors

Parent Governors as the title implies are drawn from Parents or Guardians of Children at the School.  Parent Governors normally serve for a period of 4 years and are elected by the Parents or Carers / Guardians of Children at the School.  From time to time the School will send home a letter notifying parents that there is a vacancy for a Parent Governor, and seeking nominations.  If there are more nominations than there are vacancies, then there will be a ballot at which point all of the parents get to vote for the candidate of their choice.  As a Parent Governor, elected by parents, the role of the Parent Governor is to bring a parental perspective to the Governing Bodies decision making rather than represent the parental constituency.

Community Governors

Community Governors are as the title implies people from the local community elected by the governing body.   You will not find this category of Governor on voluntary aided (religious) school governing bodies.  No person is permitted to be a Community Governor in a school where they are employed.  Also, anyone who is an elected member of the Local Authority is not eligible to be a community governor.

If you would like to find out more about being a Community Governor, either at this school or another, you can contact Governor Services on 581191.   It will be helpful when making contact to provide some brief background information, including:

  • Your reasons for wishing to become a school governor.
  • Whether you have any particular skills and / or knowledge which you could bring to a governing body for example
    • Financial
    • Building Works
    • Health and Safety
    • Management
    • Legal
    • Human Resources.

The Governing Body will need to establish that you are either a local resident or have an involvement in the community served by the School.

If not, it is always helpful to explain your interest in that particular part of the borough.

Local Authority Governors

Within Lancashire, Local Authority Governors are appointed by the political parties represented on the Council.  The overall number allocated to each political party is proportionate to their level of representation on the Council.

List of Current Governors

If you wish to contact a school governor please do so through the school office on 01524 832747 or email the headteacher at


Governors – October 2022

Vanessa Rigby - Chair of Governors : John Manley - Vice Chair of Governors


Standards Comm                                                         Finance Comm

Mrs S Roberts                                                             Mr J Manley (Chair)

Ms H Freschini                                                            Mr K Wright

Mr J Manley                                                                Ms H Freschini

Mr K Wright                                                                Mr S Bond

Mrs V Rigby                                                                Mrs L Lewis  

Mr T Clarke                                                                 Mrs C Schuyler                                                                                                                                                           

Mrs H Lindsay                                                                                                     

Mrs L Lewis                                                                                                                    

Mr S Bond

Ms K Lightfoot

Mrs E Townley

M A Dootson










Register of Interests

Governors with an interest:



Contact Us